The Honorable Raul Ruiz United States House of Representatives 2342 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Ami Bera United States House of Representatives 172 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Larry Bucshon United States House of Representatives 2313 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mariannette Miller-Meeks United States House of Representatives 1034 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representatives Ruiz, Bucshon, Bera, and Miller-Meeks:

The undersigned national physician specialty societies and state medical associations commend you for introducing H.R. 2474, the Strengthening Medicare for Patients and Providers Act. This bipartisan legislation advances the ongoing need to provide financial stability to physician practices in order to preserve access to care for Medicare beneficiaries.

Providing an annual inflation update equal to the Medicare Economic Index (MEI) for Medicare physician payments is essential to enabling physician practices to better absorb payment distributions triggered by budget neutrality rules, performance adjustments, and periods of high inflation. It will also help physicians invest in their practices and implement new strategies to provide high-value care.

The annual "stop the Medicare payment cut" exercises are due, in no small part, to the fact that physician services do not receive the annual inflationary update that virtually all other Medicare providers can rely on to better weather periods of fiscal uncertainty. The COVID-19 pandemic further illustrated the challenges physicians endure due to the current broken Medicare payment system. While the temporary and partial patches that Congress has provided through 2024 were necessary under the current payment system, they are a distraction, exacerbate budgeting challenges for practices, and divert resources that both medicine and Congress could be spending on other meaningful health care policies and innovations. Therefore, organized medicine is united in support of a long-term payment solution that centers on annual inflationary updates.

Once again, we sincerely appreciate your leadership in introducing H.R. 2474, as this legislation promotes this key element of any comprehensive, meaningful Medicare physician payment reform plan. We look forward to working with you on this legislation to advance it through the House and Senate during the 118th Congress.

Sincerely,

American Medical Association

AMDA-The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine

American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology

American Academy of Dermatology Association

American Academy of Family Physicians

American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine

American Academy of Neurology

American Academy of Ophthalmology

Honorable Raul Ruiz Honorable Ami Bera Honorable Larry Bucshon Honorable Mariannette Miller-Meeks April 19, 2023 Page 2

> American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation American Academy of Sleep Medicine American Association for Hand Surgery American Association of Clinical Endocrinology American Association of Clinical Urologists, Inc. American Association of Neurological Surgeons American Association of Neuromuscular & Electrodiagnostic Medicine

American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology

American College of Cardiology

American College of Chest Physicians

American College of Emergency Physicians

American College of Gastroenterology

American College of Lifestyle Medicine

American College of Medical Genetics & Genomics

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

American College of Osteopathic Internists

American College of Physicians

American College of Radiation Oncology

American College of Radiology

American College of Surgeons

American Epilepsy Society

American Gastroenterological Association

American Medical Group Association

American Medical Women's Association

American Psychiatric Association

American Society for Clinical Pathology

American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association

American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy

American Society for Radiation Oncology

American Society of Anesthesiologists

American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery

American Society of Hematology

American Society of Nuclear Cardiology

American Society of Retina Specialists

American Society of Transplant Surgeons

American Urogynecologic Society

American Urological Association

Association for Clinical Oncology

Association of American Medical Colleges

College of American Pathologists

Congress of Neurological Surgeons

Endocrine Society

Heart Rhythm Society

International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery Medical Group Management Association

Honorable Raul Ruiz Honorable Ami Bera Honorable Larry Bucshon Honorable Mariannette Miller-Meeks April 19, 2023 Page 3

National Association of Medical Examiners
National Association of Spine Specialists
North American Neuromodulation Society
Renal Physicians Association
Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions
Society for Pediatric Dermatology
Society for Vascular Surgery
Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons
Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography
Society of Hospital Medicine
Society of Interventional Radiology
Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging
Spine Intervention Society
The Society of Thoracic Surgeons

Medical Association of the State of Alabama Alaska State Medical Association Arizona Medical Association Arkansas Medical Society California Medical Association Colorado Medical Society Connecticut State Medical Society Medical Society of Delaware Medical Society of the District of Columbia Florida Medical Association Medical Association of Georgia Hawaii Medical Association Idaho Medical Association Illinois State Medical Society Indiana State Medical Association Iowa Medical Society Kansas Medical Society Kentucky Medical Association Louisiana State Medical Society Maine Medical Association MedChi, The Maryland State Medical Society Massachusetts Medical Society Michigan State Medical Society Minnesota Medical Association Mississippi State Medical Association Missouri State Medical Association Montana Medical Association Nebraska Medical Association Nevada State Medical Association New Hampshire Medical Society Medical Society of New Jersey New Mexico Medical Society

Honorable Raul Ruiz Honorable Ami Bera Honorable Larry Bucshon Honorable Mariannette Miller-Meeks April 19, 2023 Page 4

> Medical Society of the State of New York North Carolina Medical Society North Dakota Medical Association Ohio State Medical Association Oklahoma State Medical Association Oregon Medical Association Pennsylvania Medical Society Rhode Island Medical Society South Carolina Medical Association South Dakota State Medical Association Tennessee Medical Association Texas Medical Association **Utah Medical Association** Vermont Medical Society Medical Society of Virginia Washington State Medical Association West Virginia State Medical Association Wisconsin Medical Society Wyoming Medical Society

Cc: The Honorable Charles Schumer, Majority Leader, United States Senate
The Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader, United States Senate
The Honorable Kevin McCarthy, Speaker, United States House of Representatives
The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries, Minority Leader, United States House of Representatives
The Honorable Ron Wyden, Chair, Senate Committee on Finance
The Honorable Mike Crapo, Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Finance
The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Chair, House Committee on Energy and Commerce
The Honorable Frank Pallone, Ranking Member, House Committee on Energy and Commerce
The Honorable Jason Smith, Chair, House Committee on Ways and Means
The Honorable Richie Neal, Ranking Member, House Committee on Ways and Means